Tagum spearheads inter-LGU alliance on disaster response

TAGUM CITY—Eight local government units in the provinces of Davao del Norte and Davao de Oro (formerly Compostela Valley), including the City of Tagum, have come together in understanding to have a united response in times of disasters and calamities.

The LGUs that are nearest to Tagum such as that of Panabo, Asuncion, New Corella, Braulio E. Dujali and Carmen in Davao del Norte, and Davao de Oro’s LGU of Maco and Mawab inked on Monday, July 29, 2019, a memorandum of understanding that sets up an inter-LGU alliance primarily focused on disaster response.

Furthermore, the MOU laid down the responsibilities of the local governments in ensuring that the communities in the two provinces’ localities have the capability to become resilient to disasters, as well as to the effects brought about by climate change.

Among the responsibilities shouldered by the LGU of Tagum are to conduct technical trainings that are aimed at strengthening the skills of the rescuers of the other LGUs subject of the memorandum of understanding, as well as developing a mechanism for an effective external deployment of personnel regarding rescue, search, retrieval and relief operations.

In return, the seven other LGUs will take it upon themselves to be upgraded in relation to the attainment of skills relating to rescue and the techniques that are necessary to better provide the communities with assistance in the event of disaster or calamity. It is also important for the LGUs other than that of Tagum to immediately respond and provide assistance during rescue operations within the boundaries of the localities affected by disasters.

In practice, most of the LGUs’ first responders under its Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Offices have been providing assistance to other LGUs during any untoward incidents that needed immediate rescue operation.

The signing of the MOU was witnessed by the representatives of the different local chief executives of the LGUs involved as well as by a multitude of Tagum’s city hall employees. Richi D. Gulle/CIO-Tagum


The Local Chief Executives of the local government units of the Tagum, Panabo, Asuncion, New Corella, BE Dujali, Carmen, Maco and Mawab in the provinces of Davao del Norte and Davao de Oro and their representatives sign the Memorandum of Understanding for a united response in times of disasters and calamity. Leo Timogan/CIO-Tagum